Rich Winston Salon

Who is Rich Winston?

Rich Winston Salon was born on a whim. A simple idea that was  discussed over dinner between a friend and I that grew into something real. The idea of the name Rich Winston came about from my first name, of course, and the Winston part derived from fun nights out with friends when we took on alter-egos.  I became Winston and the name became a part of me. I love the name Rich Winston.

How do you go about creating your customer’s look?

Utilizing geometry and lines when creating shapes on a client, I implement a look tailored to each person. My process when doing hair is very detailed.  I cut a lot of internal texture into the hair when creating a look, “digging” into the hair as some say.  Layers should be invisible, they’re there to create movement and volume.  I love the art of creating shapes. Everyone has a shape that works for them.

What products do you use at your salon?  Why?

At Rich Winston Salon we strive to be a leader in leaving as little of an environmental footprint as possible. We love Kevin Murphy, a fashion-focused range of hair products, created by an editorial stylist of the same name. The products are made from renewable and sustainable resources, using pure essential oils, plant extracts, and natural antioxidants. The company is focused on the choices it makes with the environment to ensure no harm is ever done to it, using only recycled plastic and post-consumer paper. They also donate to conservation foundations in effort to lesson our overall global carbon footprint.

Can you tell me about the “magazine hair” concept?

Ever since I was a child I was inspired by fashion magazines. I wanted to give people that look: glamourous, sexy hair. Who doesn’t want to feel sexy with their look? At Rich Winston Salon there are no typical look books that are flipped through so a client can choose a certain haircut or color. There’s no glamour in any of those catalogs. I want every client to look and feel like they should grace the cover of a fashion magazine.

Do you teach?  What are your classes like?

I’m part of a small network of global educators for a company called M&M International, the originator of the Brazilian Keratin Treatment.  It’s a revolutionary treatment that leaves your hair silky, soft, shiny, and 100% frizz free. The system is a very intricate and detailed service that’s offered at salons that have been through a thorough 3 hour training class only – that is my role. I also work with other companies giving various hair color and cutting classes.

What is your best-kept beauty secret?

I don’t think there’s many secrets left un-spilled out there. The best beauty tip I can offer is to is to keep your hair healthy by using products rich in antioxidants, which allow your hair to absorb moisture. Healthy hair has more shine and movement, and leave-in deep conditioning treatments are vital to keeping hair healthy.

 Facebook

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty and Fashion

Leave a Reply

